SOTAEX2012 – Lake District 17-21 Sept ’12 G/LD-021,020,018

Well, lets start at the very beginning, it’s a very good place to start, apparently.

This is not going to be my usual blow by blow account of my antics, as Bobby GAX has done a sterling job of covering it all in his fantastic blog.  This will be more of a summary of my take on the week away.

So, as Bob says, after a very successful and enjoyable SOTAEX2011 to Mull, we decided to head South this year to the Lakes for our break.  Once the plans were made and the travel Lodge in Cockermouth booked, there was no going back.  The WX on the Monday was grand for the drive down, and after ‘brunch’ in Carlisle, we had a look round Cockermouth before booking in to our digs.  The SOTAwaggon had performed well on the trip down after some remedial surgery the week before which included a new stainless steel exhaust system, and new rear springs which were probably a good idea as it was well loaded up with the usual rubbish that accompanies a road trip.  With something like 7 radios and the bits and bobs that go with them, and grub, drink, etc etc, there was just enough space to lever Patsy into the rear seat.

Tuesday dawned after a disturbed nights kip due to snoring and farting – three of us in one Travel Lodge room made for some choice aromas in the morning.  Off to Workington ASDA for breakfast, we passed some roadworks, the significance of which was lost on me at the time.  Not ’til I was home did I watch some YouTube videos of the Cumbrian floods of 2009 and realise that many main road bridges were washed away.  The works ongoing is the recovery work from a coupe of years ago.

Using Ordnance Survey Explorer Map OL6 to guide us, we started up the path to Scafell Pike about 11:15 in the morning.  After the rain and hail showers, we arrived at the summit in 2hrs 47mins.  It was a nice walk, made more enjoyable by the couple of RAF fly-bys.  As Bob had forgotten his walking poles, he borrowed my new wooden thumb stick and he looked every inch the 50 odd year old boy scout.

Once at the summit I took a coupe of pics then dug out the VX7 with rubber duck.   As the wind was doing its best to blow my bunnet off, it was to be a ‘handie only’ activation.  After a CQ call, the contacts came in quite rapidly on 2FM.  The chasers were :-  Patsy UPG in the car park below us keeping the motor warm and awaiting our return,  Sue OHH in Lancster, Brian ZRP in the Wirral, John TDM from Penrith, Bob ODU Lancashire, Colin UXH in Minthorp,  WHA/m was Geoff in Penrith, number 8 was Jim YLB, Peter ANX from Barrow was up next and the final contact who I worked last year from the Borders was Colin XSD from Frizington.    With 10 contacts in the soggy log, It was time to head down and into another hail shower, except this time it was now in our faces as opposed to on our backs as it had been on the way up.  Bob was beginning to wish he had worn long trousers and not long shorts, but we dried off pretty quickly with the breeze around us, and as the sun came out on the lower slopes it started to feel very pleasant indeed.  With a fast approaching shower, we made it into the shelter of the Landy just in time.  We headed home to the digs for at least two of the usual three S’s, then into town for some excellent scran courtesy of the Tithe barn.  Once refueled, it was back home to finalise the plans for the morrow, and for a kip.

Another disturbed night due to the nocturnal noises – I’m pretty sure I heard someone complain at the desk  that we were keeping an animal in the room! – and it was time for the usual morning ritual of washing, getting ready, taking radios off charge and packing ourselves into the SOTAmobile for our next days outing.  The plan for the day was to drop me at Robinson, and Bob was to be delivered to Honister pass to scale Dale Head.  This way we could both get at least two STS contacts as we were to swap hills mid way through.  Obviously before we could tackle any of that hill walking nonsense, it was off to ASDA again for the ‘Full Monty’ of breakfasts.  Patsy did his best to chat up the girl serving the scran, as he does with most females that he meets, and she took it in good spirit.  I was also most impressed with the toilets in the shop, and there was a sign informing the reader that the toilets were indeed award winning – although it would have taken a bit of cleaning by the time I was finished with it!  There goes my breakfast 😦

An enjoyable drive through some lovely scenery had us at Buttermere.  A quick trip up one of the many steep and winding mountain passes had us parked in the carpark at Newlands Hause at NY192176 on Ordinance Survey OL4.  The auto transmission fluid was taking a bit of a cooking due to the load on board, and the steepness of the gradients.  I unloaded my not unsubstantial frame and pack from the Landy, and set off up the faint path towards  High Snockrigg.  There is a large depresses plateau between here and the climb up Robinson, care must be taken here if you want to keep your feet dry.  It’s called Buttermere Moss, and it certainly is.  There are a couple of ‘false’ paths which lead you right into the mossy boggy middle, and I chose these paths.  I think the correct path is over to your right or South.  I never noticed this path on the ground until I was climbing the side  of Robinson and looking down on it.  This climb up the side I found quite tedious and slow going.  Maybe I wasn’t in the right frame of mind for it, as it isn’t anything too bad, although it is steep.    Anyway, I was soon at the top, arriving in about 1hr 20mins having covered 1.47 miles mostly up.

The summit structure is a stone semi circular wind break type of thing.  At first I wasn’t sure if this was the top or not, but a couple of quick checks with GAX on the radio and it was confirmed. I gabbed to a couple of fellow walkers at the top, then settled myself into the shelter to get relief from the now chilly wind.  Just using the handie, my first contact from G/LD-021 was Colin UXH.  Bobby GAX/p was next in for the official STS, then I looked over my shoulder and could see the skies darkening from the West very quickly.  There were a few chasers calling but I put out a call to say I was going QRT temporarily until the WX passed over.  I got into my Highlander bivvi bag – a present from Patsy UPG – which I had very nearly taken out of my pack in the morning before we left for the hill.  A tremendous hail shower passed through, and I could see Bobs hill Dale Head being enveloped in the nasty WX.  For the next 15 mins or so I watched waves of hail, rain and thick cloud pass by me – safe in my large green cocoon.  A slight criticism of the Highlander bivvi is that it doesn’t appear to breath very well.  It was absolutely fine for my purpose, but I think a nights kip in it night result in an uncomfortable feeling in the morning.  The radio went again and it was Sue OHH asking if I was still on frex.  Number four in the log was Geoff WHA/m with Doug KLZ not long after.  My last three were John TDM, Patsy UPG/m and finally Colin XSD from Frizington.  This gave me 9 contacts from Robinson.

It was time to pack up and head over to Dale Head for my second activation of the day.  A quick QSO with GAX confirmed he was also about to move off from his hill.  It was fine and dry by now, but still with a touch of low cloud passing occasionally, but nothing to worry about.  Heading South East off Robinson, I was about half way up Littledale Edge when I met Bobby.  As he was wearing his luminous Greenock Morton bunnet, I actually spotted him from quite a distance.  After a gab where each of us gave the other the benefit of our observations so far, we parted and headed to our next hills.  Walking up over Hindscarth Edge, the wind was blowing strongly from the South West, coming up from Honister pass.  As I was going along using my walking poles, I nearly fell over due to the fact that my left hand pole had been blown almost horizontal, with the outcome that the point was not on the ground where it should have been, and thus when I went to put my weight on it there was just fresh air!  Yes, breezy indeed.  My attention was drawn by the beating sound of a helicopter below my to the West.  A yellow RAF cab ( probably from RAF Valley, Leconfield or Boulmer ) was making slow maneuvers and disappeared behind Fleetwith Pike.  I never spotted it again, I wonder what it was up to?

I took a few pictures on the way, but arrived the huge Dale Head summit marker after walking 1.84 miles in 1 hour 39 mins.  An old couple were sitting at the cairn and I found out they were 80 and 83 years young – and probably walking the hills faster than me.  When they left I sat with my back against the cairn on one of the more comfortable rocks and started the activation.  Colin UXH was first up, with Sue OHH second in the log.  GAX/p was next with the STS and number four was Doug KLZ.  A wee spot of rain came my way, but wasn’t anything to worry about.  Next was John TDM, Colin XSD followed him and up popped the third member of SOTAEX2012 – Patsy UPG/m in the pass below me.  My next three contacts covered England, Scotland and Wales with Geoff WHA/m, Rob LJE in Annan and my last contact was a nameless VVV/m near Halkyn mountain in Wales.

It was time to move on, with just the decent to Honister pass to tackle.  As usual, my legs suffered on the downward slope, but after 1.21 miles of ‘down’ in 42 minutes, I was at Honister Hause where Patsy was waiting.  We had a quick look round the premises and the shop, and a note was made to return the next day as the WX was to be rank.  Forgetting that Bobby was waiting to be picked up, I dawdled until Patsy reminded me that our third Musketeer was still missing.  Climbing aboard the SOTA waggon, off we set to Newlands Hause to retrieve our weary companion.  I think he was glad to see us, but he would have been a lot gladder had I not fannied about at the mine and picked him up sooner!  A cracking drive home was enjoyed, walking boots off and trainers on to relieve weary feet.  The usual evenings activities followed with showers, clean clothes and into town to the Tythe Barn for grub.  Once home, I discovered that if I hit Patsy a wallop with a spare pillow from my sofa bed, he would stop snoring for a bit.  I made a promise to myself that if he didn’t stop his noises, I would be using the pointy end of a walking pole to encourage his silence the next night.

Thursday, as promised, dawned wet and dreary.  Bobby decided it was ‘a day fur the hoose’ so after the usual ASDA breakfast, Bob was dropped at ‘home’ and Patsy and I headed for Honister slate mine.  The car park was busy by the time we arrived – obviously more than just us were looking for indoor themed entertainment on such a pants day.  We arrived just in time to catch the ‘Kimberley’ tour.  The tour started with a video explaining the reasons behind why a long abandoned mine was re-opened, narrated by the late Mark Weir who owned the mine.  Then after collecting our hard hats complete with LED lamps, it was into Honisters bus and up the track to one of the older, now disused parts of the mine.  The tour leader was excellent in keeping the attention of the group, and even appointed a ‘tail end Charlie’ ( although that wasn’t the official name he gave it ) to ensure no-one was left behind. I can thoroughly recommend the tour, and the shop at Honister if you are in the area.  There are other tours available, and also an outdoors rock-face climbing type activity with a long wire bridge to cross for those a lot braver than your author.  On leaving the mine complex, we turned East and found a parking spot further down the pass.  Here, I took water from the Hause Gill and made myself some supernoodles on my old Camping Gaz stove.  They were rank, and I will never make such a pile of cr4p again.  Our onward journey took us through Seatoller, Borrowdale and up the side of Derwent water to Keswick.  We pulled in and decided that as time was not pressing, we would have a wander through the town.  Two hours parking was paid for in the waterside car park and off we set.  First thing we came across was a cracking Mercedes Ambulance belonging to Keswick MRT.  A fine looking machine, it looked very fit for purpose, being able to double as a crew carrier and take a trolley ( stretcher ).  Off into the town we wandered and had a look through the numerous out doors type shops.  I wasn’t really looking for much, just having a nosey, but in the end I bought an excellent MSR Pocket Rocket backpacking stove from one of the retailers.  No more pierced type gaz cylinders for me, this wee beauty is of the modern screw on variety, and I am very happy with it.  So, with that, we headed for the motor and then home.  After a wash and change, it was once more into the Tythe barn for our grub.  The manager directed us to our ‘usual’ table and as usual we ordered our drinks before the grub arrived.  As it was the last night, a couple more rounds were enjoyed before Patsy ( the sober one ) drove us home.  The manager had wished us well on leaving, and to be honest, if I am down that way again, I would happily give him my custom.

Friday morning saw us opening the windows and door of the room to get a through draft to try and air the room.  The smell was a bit thick, three of us in the one room, farting, burping and who knows what else.  Once we were all ready and packed up, I had to use the ‘facilities’ in the room one last time – the beer from the night before was taking its toll on my guts.  Having done my best to block the plumbing in the Travel Lodge, it was off to ASDA for, you’ve guessed it, a full monty.  We enjoyed our last grub in Workington, and I enjoyed my last visit to the award winning toilet where once again the beer was taking it’s toll on my now dicky tummy.  After fueling up the car, we headed off towards our last hill of SOTAEX2012 which was to be Stoney Cove Pike.  The drive down was excellent through Wordsworth country, and eventually to Ambleside where we turned onto the Kirkstone road, part of which is also aptly named The Struggle.  The Landy could feel it in places, even spinning a front wheel on a steeper section, and this from a 4×4.  The ATF was glad of the rest when we reached the free car park opposite the Kirkstone Inn.  I left the motor to run for a minute or two to let some fresh cool oil circulate round its steel veins.  Bobby and I readied ourselves, boots on, ruckie checked and we were off.

The path we were taking runs up the left side of the Inn, and is a decent enough track.  There was a wee bit of scrambling, but soon we were striding up good style, enjoying the fine weather and good walking conditions.  A few parts of the path are made from large stones placed over softer ground like big stepping stones, and they were a great help.  A couple of brief stops to take pictures and for me to phone my wife at work, and soon we were nearing the top.  We heard a station on top of Snowdon calling on S20, so as we were within the activation zone, a good STS was there for the taking.  I handed Bobby my VX7 to let him make the first contact while I logged.  I was next up on the radio, and called our Welsh counterpart – silence.  I called a few times, as did other stations but nothing came back.  So Bobby got 10 chaser points, and I got nowt for being a gentleman and letting him go first!  Within a couple of minutes we were on the summit of Stoney Cove Pike enjoying the view from the summit cairn.    Bobby got his 4M stuff out, and as usual I went onto 2FM with just the VX7 with rubber duck and my 2.5 watts.  The calls came in pretty quickly and started off with OHH Sue, UXH Colin, KLZ Doug and my number four to qualify the hill was ZRP Brian.  Quickly following them with little delay were ODU Bob, WHA/m Geoff, TDM John, SJJ was Sam in Barrow, XYL Karen who I struggled with a bit, UPG/m Patsy keeping the get away car warm in the Inn car park, then a brace of Johns – GUX and BLV and my last contact of the hill, day and holiday was a STS with Richard JTD who was on G/LDW-023 and was just starting his short break as we were finishing ours.

With the contacts now dried up, it was time for a couple of photos and then off.  As is quite common, Bob and I descend at different rates – one or other of us is stopping for pictures or a pee or something, and so it was this time too.  We could see a large squall heading towards us, so on the final part of the downward leg, haste was made to toward the shelter of the SOTAwaggon.  After changing out my boots and dumping my rucksack in the motor, we headed over to the Kirkstone pass Inn for a refreshment before the long (158 miles) journey home.  We ordered our drinks, and for the last time on English soil, I headed to the loo and done what bears do.  If this tale teaches the reader any sort of lesson, it should be not to consume alcohol the night before a SOTA activation.  Once our drinks were finished, we bade farewell to the lovely barkeep and shortly we were following the Garmins female voice back over the border.  The drive home was excellent with clear skies and quiet roads.  We only stopped briefly to stretch our legs, me especially as the weeks outings had taken its toll on my left knee, and as I write this nearly three weeks later, my knee is still dodgy.  Anyway, once at Tesco in Port Glasgow we squared up the fuel bill, phoned or loved ones to warn them of our imminent arrivals and I dropped Bobby and Patsy at their respective home QTHs.

All in all, an excellent and very enjoyable five days away with a couple of firsts for me.  My first 10 point hill and my first double activation.   The WX while not hot and sunny had been kind, the company excellent and even Patsy avoided being suffocated while he lay snoring his head off on the sofa bed in the digs.  One thing I did notice was that Patsy didn’t snore while he slept sitting upright in the back of the motor – he slept a lot during our journey – so, I have come up with a cunning plan.  For SOTAEX2013 Patsy will not be getting a bed in our chosen accommodation, he will instead be lashed to a chair where he will sleep quietly and the rest of mankind can enjoy a good nights kip!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOTAEX2012 – Lake District 17-21 Sept ’12 G/LD-021,020,018

  1. gm7something says:

    Excellently scribed young Roddy..
    A holiday to remember in such a picturesque location, I know now why I keep wanting to go back.
    Just to make it clear,
    Dear Reader,
    One doesn’t pee, one doesn’t snore ( only slightly), one got soaked ( read the post and you can guess when)..but the old bloke got the comfy bed, thanks.
    and Asda make one helluva brekkie plus the Tithe Barn ? 10 out of 10..

    Another DXpedition success.

    B.Mhor of the Fells

  2. 2m0gil says:

    Hi Roddy,good write up and i especially like the HDR shots!,well done on gaining your first 10 pointer and already looking forward to next years report.
    73
    Graeme..

Leave a comment